Faculty Directory

The School of Architecture faculty is made up of a distinct group of practicing architects and academics whose areas of expertise range from Ancient Roman and Greek Architecture to Architectural Theory to Technology, Construction Methodology, and Furniture Design. Our faculty members are encouraged to continue their research and practice while teaching at the School so that students receive the most well-rounded and practical education possible. Recent studios have both an international and national focus, with professors taking students to Havana, Ecuador, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Spain, Vienna, Athens, China, Washington, D.C., Las Vegas, New Orleans, and Chicago—giving students a variety of opportunities to learn and discover diverse architectural styles and traditions.


Robert L. Amico

Robert L. Amico

Professor Emeritus

Selena K. Anders, PhD

Selena K. Anders, PhD '09

Assistant Professor, Co-Director HUE ND and Associate Director DHARMA Lab

sanders@nd.edu

Jason Arnold, AIA '97

Jason Arnold, AIA '97

Managing Director, Fitzgerald Institute for Real Estate, and Term Assistant Teaching Professor

574-631-6076
jasonarnold@nd.edu

Sara Bega

Sara Bega

Adjunct Assistant Teaching Professor

sbega@nd.edu

Philip Bess

Philip Bess

Professor

574.631.7739
pbess@nd.edu

Robert Brandt

Robert Brandt

Professor of the Practice

574.631.8433
brandt.5@nd.edu

Craig Brandt, FAIA

Craig Brandt, FAIA

Adjunct Professor of the Practice

cbrandt2@nd.edu

Rev. Richard S. Bullene, C.S.C.

Rev. Richard S. Bullene, C.S.C. '76 and '81

Assistant Dean, Academic Director of the Rome Studies Program, and Associate Teaching Professor

bullene.3@nd.edu

Kate Chambers

Kate Chambers '18

Adjunct Assistant Professor of the Practice

574-631-3521
kchambe2@nd.edu

Joseph Connors

Joseph Connors, PhD

Michael C. Duda Visiting Professor

jconno23@nd.edu

Norman Crowe

Norman Crowe

Emeritus Director of Graduate Studies

ncrowe@nd.edu

Marianne Cusato

Marianne Cusato '97 and '17

Professor of the Practice, Director of Housing & Community Regeneration Initiatives

574-631-8610
mcusato@nd.edu

Alan DeFrees '74

Alan DeFrees '74

James A. and Louise F. Nolen Professor of the Practice

574.631.8084
defrees.3@nd.edu

Michael Dennis

Michael Dennis

Michael C. Duda Visiting Professor of the Practice

mdennis@nd.edu

Dennis P. Doordan

Dennis P. Doordan, PhD

Emeritus Professor

574.631.6771
doordan.1@nd.edu

Alejandro Douglas Duany

Alejandro Douglas Duany

Associate Professor of the Practice

574.631.0670
aduany1@nd.edu

Richard Economakis

Richard Economakis

Associate Dean for Research, Scholarship, & Creative Work, and Professor

574.631.7887
economakis.1@nd.edu

Mari Yoko Hara

Mari Yoko Hara

Assistant Professor

mhara2@nd.edu

Stephen Kromkowski '88

Stephen Kromkowski '88

Adjunct Professor of the Practice

574-631-9937
skromkow@nd.edu

Krupali Uplekar Krusche

Krupali Uplekar Krusche, PhD

Associate Professor, Director DHARMA (Digital Historic Architecture and Material Analysis) Lab, and Director DVARCA (Development and Advancement of Resilient Cities Alliance) Lab

574.631.9210
kuplekar@nd.edu

Jean-François Lejeune

Jean-François Lejeune

Adjunct Professor, Rome

Giovanna Lenzi-Sandusky

Giovanna Lenzi-Sandusky

Director of Relations, Associate Professor of the Practice, Rome

+39-06-772-643-308
glenzisa@nd.edu

David Mayernik

David Mayernik

Associate Professor, Rome

574.631.4451
mayernik.4@nd.edu

Ettore Mazzola

Ettore Mazzola

Professor of the Practice, Rome

archmazzola@tiscali.it

Giuseppe Mazzone

Giuseppe Mazzone, PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor

(574) 631-2229
gmazzone@nd.edu

Kelly Medford

Kelly Medford

Adjunct Assistant Professor of the Practice, Rome

kmedford@nd.edu

John Mellor

John Mellor, AIA '95 and '10

Associate Professor of the Practice

jmellor@nd.edu

Michael Mesko

Michael Mesko '96 and '98

Professor of the Practice

574-631-6132
mmesko2@nd.edu

John Onyango, PhD

John Onyango, PhD '99

Associate Professor

(574) 631-2221
jonyang1@nd.edu

Julio Cesar Perez Hernandez

Julio Cesar Perez Hernandez

Associate Professor of the Practice

(574) 631-6138
jperezhe@nd.edu

Richard Piccolo

Richard Piccolo

Adjunct Professor, Rome

piccolo.rich@gmail.com

Stefanos  Polyzoides

Stefanos Polyzoides

Francis and Kathleen Rooney Dean of the School of Architecture and Professor

(574) 631-6137
spolyzoi@nd.edu

Thomas Norman Rajkovich

Thomas Norman Rajkovich

Adjunct Professor of the Practice

trajkovi@nd.edu

Robin Rhodes

Robin Rhodes

Concurrent Associate Professor

574.631.7684
rrhodes@nd.edu

Samantha L. Salden Teach

Samantha L. Salden Teach '02 and '08

Assistant Dean for Graduate Studies and Associate Teaching Professor

574.631.0191
ssalden1@nd.edu

Steven Semes

Steven Semes

Director of Michael Christopher Duda Center for Preservation, Resilience, and Sustainability, and Professor, Rome

semes.1@nd.edu

Jamshid Sepehri

Jamshid Sepehri

Adjunct Professor of the Practice

jsepehri@nd.edu

Melissa Slavin Di Cesare '04

Melissa Slavin Di Cesare '04

Adjunct Assistant Teaching Professor, Rome

mslavin@nd.edu

Brian Smith '01 and '13

Brian Smith '01 and '13

Concurrent Teaching Professor

574.631.5332
bsmith24@nd.edu

Duncan Stroik

Duncan Stroik, AIA

Professor

574.631.5762
dstroik@nd.edu

Sebastian Treese

Sebastian Treese

Visiting Professor of the Practice

streese@nd.edu

Julia Treese

Julia Treese

Visiting Professor of the Practice

jtreese@nd.edu

Paolo Vitti

Paolo Vitti

Associate Professor of the Practice, Rome

pvitti@nd.edu

Jonathan Weatherill

Jonathan Weatherill

Associate Professor, Rome

+39-06-772-643-316
jweathe3@nd.edu

Carroll Westfall

Carroll Westfall

Professor Emeritus

Samir Younés

Samir Younés

Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs and Curriculum, and Professor

574.631.5988
younes.1@nd.edu

Todd Zeiger

Todd Zeiger

Adjunct Assistant Professor of the Practice

tzeiger2@nd.edu