In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Notre Dame School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

B. Arch. (165 undergraduate credits)
M. Arch. (preprofessional degree + 54 graduate credits)
M. Arch. (non-preprofessional degree + 90 credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2024

NAAB Conditions and Procedures

Architecture Program Reports, Annual Reports, and Visiting Team Reports

Architect Registration Examination Pass Rates 

Career Development Information

Useful links to assist you as you develop an understanding of the career pathways available to graduates of accredited degree programs.