DeFrees honored with award for excellence in undergraduate teaching

Author: Meaghan Veselik

Prof. Alan DeFrees has been selected as a recipient of the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Established in 2007, the Joyce Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching annually recognizes  faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching.

This university award, inaugurated on the 70th anniversary of Fr. Joyce’s graduation from Notre Dame, is funded through an endowment established by the Class of 1937. Fr. Joyce served as Notre Dame’s executive vice-president from 1952-1987. In his honor, the Joyce award recognizes faculty who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement, and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within the discipline. This is Prof. DeFrees’ second time receiving the Joyce Award, having also been presented with it in 2008. 

“I want to thank Prof. DeFrees for his hard work, attention and dedication to his students in the School. He is most deserving of this honor given for exemplary teaching. He is a delightful colleague and has made us all better with his presence on the faculty,” says Michael Lykoudis, professor and dean of the School of Architecture.

A 1974 graduate of the School of Architecture, Prof. DeFrees has taught courses in architectural design, architectural technology, building technology, professional practice, and structures since 1994. His professional practice spans nearly 30 years and includes office and retail buildings, sports facilities, restaurants, and school, church, and hospital additions. Since 1990, he has focused on a range of residential work, from low-cost urban in-fill projects to high-end residences and condominiums, including many homes along Lake Michigan. The School’s student groups also awarded Prof. DeFrees as “Educator of the Year” in 2001 and 2012.

The Joyce Award is chosen by a committee that reviews nominations submitted by students and faculty. It is overseen by the Office of the Provost and replaced the Kaneb Teaching Awards in 2007.