We A.R.E. ND

Author: School of Architecture

Graduates on the path to become licensed architects face one final hurdle: the Architect Registration Exam (ARE). Like the Bar Exam for lawyers, the ARE measures the competency of those to be entrusted with the license to design our physical environment and bear the designation “architect.” Developed and maintained by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, the ARE consists of seven divisions that are taken in any order through a total testing duration of 33.5 hours.

A recent analysis of pass rates reveals that Notre Dame students are well equipped to meet this challenge. In the 2009, 2010 and 2011 exam years, Notre Dame ranked 11th, 4th, and 3rd respectively among 114 U.S. schools. Only four other universities placed in the top 15 in all three years. Especially notable is Notre Dame Architecture’s top position in both Schematic Design and Building Systems. Here are Notre Dame Architecture’s pass-rate rankings in the seven ARE divisions of the 114 U.S. schools:


11 - Programming, Planning & Practice
9 - Site Planning & Design
19 - Building Design & Construction Systems
1 - Schematic Design
10 - Structural Systems
1 - Building Systems
11 - Construction Documents & Services