40 Years of Women at ND Architecture: Reunion-Symposium

Author: School of Architecture

The Student Association for Women in Architecture (SAWA) and the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture will celebrate four decades of coeducation with “Beyond The Drafting Board: 40 Years of Women in Architecture at Notre Dame” on April 5 and 6 (Friday and Saturday). The reunion-symposium begins at 2:30 p.m. Friday with an optional private tour of Notre Dame’s new Stayer Center for Executive Education. At 4:00 p.m. Friday in the Bond Hall Auditorium, Dean Michael Lykoudis will give a formal introduction. Pioneering alumnae including Martha Lampkin Welborne ’75, Toni Griffin ’86, Melissa DelVecchio ’94, Sara Lardinois ’95 and Marianne Cusato ’97 will join recent graduates to reflect on their experiences at the School of Architecture and their contributions to the field during this two day reunion-symposium at the University of Notre Dame. Register at the Architecture Store. Saturday walk-ins are welcome. There is a $30 registration fee for Saturday only.


SAWA Beyond the Drafting Board


Friday, April 5

2:30 PM | Private Tour of the Stayer Center for Executive Education at Notre Dame

Guided by Melissa DelVecchio ’94, architect and Managing Partner at Robert A. M. Stern, Architects

(Meet in the East Lobby of the Stayer Center)

4:00 pm | Welcome and Introduction

Dean Michael Lykoudis

4:30 pm | Keynote

Martha Lampkin Welborne ’75

5:15 pm | Session I:Urban Practice & Beyond

Featuring Toni Griffin '86, Kathryn Roos '07, and Marianne Cusato '97.

6:30 pm | Reception and Book Signing

Marianne Cusato ’97, author of The Just Right Home

7:30 pm | Dinner at The Brick

Designed by Elizabeth Garvey Cressy ’02

Saturday, April 6

8:30 am | Continental Breakfast

9:00 am | Pecha Kucha

Featuring Theresa Coolahan '00, Jennifer Hagan Griffin ’06 and ’11,  Mary Inchauste ’78, Elizabeth Ruedisale McNicholas ’01 and ’06, Jennifer Parker, and Kimberly Rollings ’03.

9:30 am | Session II:Architectural Practice & Beyond

Featuring Melissa DelVecchio '94,Marie Andreé Soundy '98 and '05, and Sara Lardinois '95

10:45 AM | Coffee Reception

11:00 am | Roundtable Discussion: Professional Navigation

Featuring Theresa Coolahan '00, Marianne Cusato '97, Melissa DelVecchio '94, Toni Griffin '86, Mary Inchauste '78, Sara Lardinois '95, Elizabeth Ruedisale McNicholas ’01 and ’06,  Kathryn Roos '07, Marie Andreé Soundy '98 and '05, and Martha Lampkin Welborne '75

12:30 pm | Networking Luncheon

More information can be found on Facebook and the SAWA website.