Upcoming Events

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Friday, October 10, 2014

Architecture Alumni Weekend

Location: Notre Dame Stadium

This year, Alumni Weekend will take place over October 10th and 11th. The Notre Dame Fighting Irish will take on the North Carolina Tar Heels at 3:30 pm. More information on Alumni Weekend events and tickets for the football game to come.

Read More

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Friday, March 20, 2015

The Richard H. Driehaus Prize

Location: Chicago, IL

The Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame complements the School of Architecture’s classical and urbanist curriculum, providing a forum for celebrating and advancing the principles of the traditional city with an emphasis on sustainability.

Beauty, harmony, and context are hallmarks of classical architecture, thus fostering communities, enhancing the quality of our shared environment, and developing sustainable solutions through traditional materials.”

Read More

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Vernon Minor Lecture: Narrative in the Architecture and Sculpture of Rome's Sant'Agnese is Piazza Navona

-

Location: 104 Bond Hall

Lecture Summary

notre_dame_1

The lecture emphasizes the role of narrative in the church of Sant’Agnese and how best to assess and critique the “narratological” elements of the sculptural reliefs.  I will concentrate on one of those reliefs, “The Stoning of St. Emrentiana,” by Ercole Ferrata.  My lecture begins with an historical account of the church and its sculpture, then moves fairly quickly to a critical reading of the workings of narrative in that space.  I will calling upon theories in narrative studies and in the discipline of art history.   …

Read More